Oh, dear, it’s the 7th. That means something, doesn’t it?

So, it’s my birthday today. I turn 22.

I was going to make a list of 22 pearls of wisdom I’ve gathered over my life thus far, but this is as far as I got:

1. Pudding has milk in it. Powdered pudding has milk in it. EVERY pudding has milk in it. If you have the misfortune of being addicted to pudding AND being lactose intolerant, you need to remember this fact.

2. You can’t buy mace in the grocery store, or the drug store. Which is inconvenient because the times you stop and realize you should be carrying mace, the only places open are the aforementioned.

And then I kind of ran out. So…

I decided to make a list of 22 of my favorite things (besides the obvious friends and family, because I could gush about them endlessly :

1. Chocolate pudding
2. Kuma, despite his phone/book/stair/table/shoe/brush/pen eating tendencies
3. The smell of old books
4. Going to movies the first night they’re out, and getting to share the emotions of the audience, the gasps, cheers, etc.
5. Lists
6. Challenges, dares, contests and anything that pushes me farther than I thought I could go
7. England, the only place I feel my feet grow roots
8. POTS of tea. Not just cups, but when you go into a place and they serve tea in a pot
9. The Princess Bride
10. Walking before the world gets up
11. Jonathon Strange and Mr. Norrell
12. Traveling, especially to old places, where the history is written into the buildings and the earth
13. Pilot Precise V5 black pens
14. Dexter
15. Spilling secrets to the stripe on the swimming pool floor
16. Dancing in the rain (I did this on the 4th)
17. Dancing like a fool in an empty house to loud music (I did this about 10 min ago)
18. Shinto
19. Being far enough out in nature that there’s little to no trace of mankind
20. Stumbling on/through/into/by whimsical scenes
21. Sitting on my back porch watching, listening, and feeling summer thunderstorms
22. Effortless smiles

There you go. I’m off to have a pot of tea, read a good book, converse with my swimming pool, eat some sushi, some ice cream, and perhaps some pudding, and who knows what else I’ll squeeze in before the clock strikes twelve and this new age becomes the norm. It’s a full moon tonight, a lot can happen.

Tagged

29 thoughts on “Oh, dear, it’s the 7th. That means something, doesn’t it?

  1. jmeadows says:

    Happy birthday!!!

  2. Happy birthday. πŸ™‚

  3. Anonymous says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY
    Yay for the smell of old books, The Princess Bride, and telling secrets to the black line on the bottom of the pool πŸ™‚
    Hope it’s an amazing day πŸ™‚

  4. veschwab says:

    Haha I LOVE your icon πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  5. veschwab says:

    Thank you πŸ™‚

  6. veschwab says:

    Re: HAPPY BIRTHDAY
    Thanks Suzie πŸ™‚ You’re one of the reasons this month is off to such a lovely start, so thank you.

  7. olmue says:

    Happy birthday! Enjoy all of it!

  8. veschwab says:

    Thank you, darling πŸ™‚

  9. latteya says:

    Happy Birthday!

  10. veschwab says:

    Thanks Brit!
    Maybe I’ll actually be productive. That would be a gift to myself πŸ™‚ Or I could just sit here with my pot of tea and wander the internets.

  11. veschwab says:

    Thanks!!
    Oh, and will you be in residence on the 3rd or 4th of August (did I already ask you that?)?

  12. rowanda380 says:

    not so random commenter
    happy birthday! I hope you have a good one!

  13. Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell!
    Pilot Precise V5 Pens!
    And like ten other things on that list! πŸ™‚
    Yay!
    Happy Birthday! πŸ™‚

  14. veschwab says:

    Re: not so random commenter
    Thank you πŸ™‚

  15. veschwab says:

    I LIVE for the precise v5. I’m left handed, and they don’t even smudge on me! So pretty and smooth πŸ™‚

  16. Happy Birthday! Have a lovely day! πŸ™‚

  17. I think that since it’s your birthday, you should ONLY do things that are on your list. πŸ™‚
    … which might make you realize that you left a few things off your list, but then – since it’s your birthday – you can add them!
    Have the happiest of Happys πŸ™‚

  18. veschwab says:

    I’m doing several of the things on my list today πŸ™‚
    Thank you for the birthday wishes Tiffany!!

  19. jongibbs says:

    Happy Birthday! Great list. I love nos 3 and 9. Also, for some reason, #7 and #8 appealed to me too πŸ™‚

  20. kaz_mahoney says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday!! Have fun! πŸ™‚

  21. veschwab says:

    I’m glad you like the list, and thank you πŸ™‚

  22. veschwab says:

    Thanks! I love your icon!

  23. veschwab says:

    Thanks Shana πŸ™‚

  24. veschwab says:

    Thank you!! It was fun πŸ™‚

  25. kessie says:

    Belated happy birthday! I hope you had a lovely time. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

