Inspiration: Duy Huynh

Writers find inspiration, like lint or spare change, in a variety of places. Historical writers will have different muses I’m sure from fantasy writers, etc. As someone who loves surrealism, and who would place their writing in the damp place between the umbrellas of "magical realism" and "fantasy" I have a few very special sources for inspiration.

I’ll preface by saying that I do, of course, research any historical elements in my projects, and I do also find much of my inspiration from the world around me. TSM was found in an abandoned lot, where a single door had yet to be torn down.

I look to folklore and fairy tale, and my academic fascination with archetypes and oral lore definitely cross over into my fiction.

But there are times when neither looking around nor closing my eyes seems to get me what I need, and when that happens, I often turn to Duy Huynh.

A painter whose incredible palettes, sleepy edges, and stunning visuals capture me every single time, Duy is one of my favorite muses.

I’m lucky enough to own a very small glazed piece of his, with a dark-haired girl in a forest, held aloft by strings, on then end of which are yellow butterflies. My parents own a larger one with a train, the smoke of which forms a sleeping body. 

I invite you to check out the whimsy of Duy Huynh’s work, regardless of whether this sort of thing inspires your writing or not. He’s simply an amazing artist who deserves the following.

His Website.

Tagged ,

15 thoughts on “Inspiration: Duy Huynh

  1. jongibbs says:

    Interesting stuff. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. veschwab says:

    My pleasure. Do you have any places you go or artists/writers/musicians you turn to for inspiration?

  3. kaz_mahoney says:

    Thanks for this. AWESOME art – just my kind of thing. 🙂

  4. veschwab says:

    You should go to his site at the bottom, look around the galleries. I just find his work lovely 🙂

  5. jongibbs says:

    I’m lucky in that I’m usually quite good at coming up with ideas – it’s the writing the story bit that’s the problem ;).
    That said, I find most music sparks up the old gray cells 🙂

  6. kaz_mahoney says:

    I am looking at it RIGHT NOW! 🙂

  7. Wow. His work is outstanding!

  8. veschwab says:

    I’m glad you like him! I just find him stunning.

  9. tessagratton says:

    Beautiful stuff! I love the whimsy. Here’s one of my favorites.

  10. writerjenn says:

    Just had to say how much I love this line:
    “Writers find inspiration, like lint or spare change, in a variety of places.”

  11. veschwab says:

    Oh, I LOVE. Will have to explore more. Nothing like a beautiful work of art to spark the imagination 🙂

  12. veschwab says:

    🙂
    I’m glad you like it.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Those pictures are STUNNING. Thank you so much for the introduction.
    ~*c*~

  14. veschwab says:

    I LIVE for this artist. ESPECIALLY to see the works in person. They’re pretty large and practically glow.
    I just wanted to spread his awesomeness like artsy gospel :p I’m glad you like him bb 🙂

  15. juliakarr says:

    Wow! His work is awesome! Thanks for turning me on to it!

Leave a Reply

