Better Late than Never

The first teaser from All Things Between! I *just* started writing, so forgive the lack of polish.

“The space between has always reminded me of summer nights in the south.

My parents used to let me spend a week each year in Louisiana with my grandfather. He was a tall man with a cocked smile and glittering eyes, and he was crazy. Or my parents thought he was. If they were right, then now I’m crazy too. I wear his rings and my mother looks at me like I’ve inherited his disease instead of his jewelry.

I remember my grandfather leaning over the balcony with a cigarette and an accent full of smoke and edges and yet so smooth. Rich. His eyes and his mouth were always smiling. I remember, too, the way he handled things, lifted them so carefully, as if each object had a life, a history, (as I later learned it did). And his sharp knuckles knotting around the three stacked rings. But what I remember most were the nights. The thick air and the heavy dark.

That’s what it’s like in the space between.”

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Better Late than Never

  1. olmue says:

    Lovely–I love the detail of the knuckles.

  2. veschwab says:

    Thank you!
    I know how quickly the giddiness of “new project” will wear off, and I’m still in the writing small bits out of order phase, so picking something to share was hard. Hopefully the choices will get better, when I have more to choose from!

  3. Anonymous says:

    I SEE YOUR CURRENT MUSICS!!!
    Also, this is just lovely. You have such a rich, descriptive and fluid way of writing. I like your voice. It’s gorgeous. All Things Between is going to be amazing. I HAS A FEELING.
    ~*c*~

  4. veschwab says:

    I put the music there and thought of you bb :p
    And awww, you’re making me blush. Let’s hope other people find me as sparkly as you do :p REGARDLESS, I’m having fun writing again. It certainly takes a tiny bit of the agony out of MY ETERNAL STATE OF WAITING.

Leave a Reply

