Graduation, a story in three disturbing parts.

I graduated! The ceremonies took two days, but I did it. The day of all school graduation was one of THE longest of my life.

Act One: I got up at 6, showered, and walked with parents over to a coffee shop near school to grab a cup of tea. We walked to campus, I donned my gap and gown (something I’ve never experienced, my high school required us to wear white dresses and carry red roses) and took my place. Ceremonies lasted three hours in the sun, and by the end I was just very thankful to take off my cap and throw it in the air and say, "yes! let’s go get our diplomas and get out of here!"

Act Two: I found my parents and we went to the art school patio, where food and diplomas were waiting. I got some snacks, because 3 hours and the words "Happy Graduation make me want to eat away my conflicting emotions." And then, I hop in the diploma line. I get up there. "Victoria Schwab" I say. The woman then digs around and says, "oh, yes, um…" and I’m thinking "NO. No, just give me my diploma so I can FINALLY say it’s official." But no. Apparently, they didn’t expect me to do as well as I did this final semester, and so they had to SEND MY DIPLOMA BACK to be repirinted with "cum laude." So after all that, no diploma. Instead, a pink slip (irony not lost on me) that says "your diploma is on special order."

Act Three: My family and I went out to an amazing dinner. It was superb, seriously. But the weather was unkind, rain, thunder, and all that. We’re driving home, all five of us (aunt, cousin, mother, father, self) in the rain at night. We come up to a light. Light turns green. We go through light, when all of a sudden, a car runs the red and barrels into the intersection and into our car. Luckily, another car pulled up just a bit beside us at the last minute, and the front of their car buffered the crash on both sides. The person who ran the light (who, by the way, had two very young children in the backseat) struck the front edge of the other car (a man on his way to see his fiancee), which then got forced into us. If that car hadn’t been there, things would have been much worse.

So, graduation was a mixed bag. I’m now back home in Nashville, sickened by the amount of STUFF I own and currently wanting to give it ALL away and live as a nomad for awhile. Instead, I suppose I should get back to unpacking/cleaning.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Graduation, a story in three disturbing parts.

  1. beedeecee says:

    congrats, victoria! i was with my college friends this past weekend and we were being all nostalgic about undergrad. definitely one of the best weekends of my life. 🙂

  2. rowanda380 says:

    not so random commenter
    congratulations!!

  3. Anonymous says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!
    Boo to Act III though. Seriously, every time I think about it I get so angry on your behalf, that someone could be that careless. UGH.
    ~*courtney

Leave a Reply

