OMFG. THE. END. AGAIN.

YOU GUYS. IT’S DONE (again).

Today I wrote "the end" on The Shadow Mile. These revisions have been KILLING me over the past few weeks. Multiple times I have stared down at the hacked remnants on my floor and wept to myself. I had to completely deconstruct the book and rearrange/rewrite before I could piece it back together.

In the end, I cut 10,000 words, taking it from 71,000 to 61,000. I rewrote approx. 10,000 words, and CUT one of my three POV’s, and pulled out of another.

BUT, much to my surprise (I am sorry, mom, for the hours spent on the phone talking about how it wasn’t going to work and why was I even trying because I was going to FAIL) it did not fail.

I still have to do another read-through, but it just feels like SUCH a relief to have all the new pieces in place.

*dies*

Tagged

27 thoughts on “OMFG. THE. END. AGAIN.

  1. dawn_metcalf says:

    Congratulations! Fireworks, indeed!

  2. veschwab says:

    Thank you! This has been so brutal, because I did a MAJOR revision in January based on one editor’s comments, but it didn’t work out, and then I had to RE-revise. I’ve been putting it off until I finished school because I knew my brain couldn’t handle it!

  3. veschwab says:

    Thanks! This has been THE MOST painful/stressful revision EVER. I’m just so glad, for my brain’s sake, that this part’s done :p

  4. YAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!! Here’s to a new lightness in being–

  5. veschwab says:

    Thanks! I’m dreading having to go back an actually re-read it :p

  6. veschwab says:

    ahaha love the icon!
    That’s exactly how I felt. I am actually going to have to sit calmly and re-read it a few times, but YAY 🙂

  7. veschwab says:

    Thank you! Mini celebration until I have to sit down and actually re-read it 😛

  8. jemacleod says:

    Yay! Don’t die after all that work!

  9. Congratulations! I’m at the same place, and DONE is a great feeling.

  10. veschwab says:

    Haha I had to step away, but my heart rate is stable and I have diet coke 🙂

  11. veschwab says:

    THANKS! This is the book that won’t die, I swear, talk about killing your darlings, again, and again, and again.

  12. veschwab says:

    Congrats to you too!! It is a great feeling, even is “done” rarely equals done.

  13. veschwab says:

    YAY!!!!!! (thank you)
    I can’t help it, whenever anyone shouts I just want to shout back!

  14. Congrats!! That is awesome!

  15. dina_james says:

    A bit belated here, but CONGRATS! WOO-HOO!

  16. veschwab says:

    Thanks! I did my little dance, and ate some pudding. Back to work tomorrow!

  17. veschwab says:

    Thanks! It seems small compared to big news like sales, but this project/rewrite has been so panful I thought it merited some fireworks.
    Which will be replaced by nail-biting when it eventually goes off to the potential editor.

  18. veschwab says:

    Thank you!!!! WOO-HOO.
    Tomorrow I have to go through AGAIN, but I’m just so happy to have glued the thing back together!

  19. rowanda380 says:

    not so random commenter
    congratulations, that is awesome!

  20. veschwab says:

    Re: not so random commenter
    Thank you!! You learn to celebrate the moments like these, the mortar of the process. I am just relieved!

  21. kessie says:

    Think about that later. 😀

Leave a Reply

