My Process, or This is Why I Always Have a Headache

So, I never used to outline. But my last project, Near Witch, taught me the value of knowing the big picture as well as the parts. I thought I’d give you a glimpse at my outlining process. Here’s a look at a fraction of TSM.

I make a digital post-it note system in InDesign. I pick a pretty font, because it makes it less painful to look at for long periods of time.

*The cards are color-coded based on who’s in the scene. Blue = Nell scene. Green = Nell + Lucas. Red = Death + Lucas. Purple = Nell + Death.

*The cards pulled out to the right are scenes that have yet to be written.

*The right side is reserved for notes/thoughts.

So far, it’s worked really well, so I thought I’d share it!

Tagged ,

One thought on “My Process, or This is Why I Always Have a Headache

  1. kessie says:

    I have no idea what InDesign is, but it looks awesome!
    I write out a general overview–beginning, vague middle, and end–first, then plan a handful of chapters as I go to accomadate things changing. Seeing yours makes me feel a bit better because I often have things like ‘Make sure Hannah gives Violet the photo back by end of scene’ or ‘Have Violet notice scents more; she’s a werewolf, after all’ scribbled in the margins of scenes.

Leave a Reply

