DONE!!!!

You guys!!! The world is a better, brighter place today. I gave my seminar presentation last night!

I almost had a panic attack. Or MULTIPLE panic attacks. I was shaking so badly. I knew my presentation wouldn’t be like the others. It was all about the academic theory, in a room of illustrators and designers talking about their typeface selection. I got up there, in front of a darkened audience of about 100, as one of my teachers warned me to breathe and go slow.

I started reading from my script as my images came up on screen, and then. The world just kind of fell away. My voice stopped shaking, the room was quiet, and I didn’t notice anything but the words and my own voice as I tried to keep it slow and steady. And then I was done. And the dreaded time came to say, “any questions?”

And I did get questions. From one of my teachers. HARD questions. I don’t actually remember answering them, but apparently I did, and *apparently* I actually sounded coherent, intelligent even. I toddled shakily back to my seat and sunk into it, thankful it was over.

When the presentations were finished, we poured out into the lobby. And suddenly, people were hugging me, congratulating me. Teachers shook my hand. Friends told me how wonderful it was (I have little memory of actually speaking) and how the questions were so hard and they don’t know how I answered. *I* don’t know how I answered.

An english major who had just defended her senior thesis told me how wonderful she thought it was.

A product designer walked up to me, and talked about how much he loved the material, the high concept of the archetypes being translated into the color wheel, asked if there was any way he could have a copy to read, and gave me his business card.

I got back to my apartment to find an email from a student asking if he could buy a copy of the book as a gift for his father.

I. AM. ON. CLOUD. NINE.

*dies*

Tagged ,

17 thoughts on “DONE!!!!

  1. tessagratton says:

    WOO! Congratulations!!!
    That sounds super exciting and thrilling (and there are *others* of us who wouldn’t be sorry to hear more about that thesis of yours)!
    But first, margaritas!

  2. veschwab says:

    THANK YOU!! I shared a pitcher of sangria last night with friends and family πŸ™‚
    And I’m hoping to do another post soon on the thesis. I’ll also offer pdfs of the book if anyone wants them.

  3. j_cheney says:

    Yay! Your life can now resume ;o)

  4. kessie says:

    YAY! Go you!
    *hugs* ♥ ♥ ♥

  5. veschwab says:

    Yay! Well, soon. I swear this is the case of the NEVER ENDING project. I have my panel critique next week. BUT I can’t change anything, so I can at least regain a semblance of a life πŸ™‚

  6. veschwab says:

    Thanks babe! I haven’t breathed this deeply in a LONG time.
    ((hugs))

  7. Hooray! I expected this outcome, really, based on how much work and heart you put into your thesis, and on how totally awesome the concept was. And somehow, knowing that you were unsure takes me offguard – but it just goes to show how susceptible we all are to DOUBT.
    I am so, so, so, so pleased for you. SQUEE!

  8. robinbridges says:

    Congratulations! What an awesome feeling!

  9. veschwab says:

    Aw thank you Kelly! That means so much to me πŸ™‚ I had *lots* of doubts. I basically ended up in the wrong major too late to change and tried to make compromises, but I knew the book wouldn’t be as “designerly” as some of the others. But YAY.
    So thankful.

  10. veschwab says:

    Thank you! I feel I can really sit back and *enjoy* the presentations now πŸ™‚ without dreading my turn.
    It feels nice to take a real breath.

  11. patesden says:

    Yay! I’m thrilled it went well for you. It is a great concept.

  12. veschwab says:

    Thanks!!!
    I keep forgetting I still have class lol.

  13. veschwab says:

    Aw thank you! I’m just SO relieved it’s over.

  14. dina_james says:

    You so rock! Congrats, Victoria!

  15. veschwab says:

    Thanks Dina! It’s OVER and I’m so so relieved. Thanks for all your support πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

