TBR Pile, and a YA Revelation

Now THIS is a gorgeous TBR pile. This is what happens when I’m stressed and go to the bookstore.

I’m already 175 pages into King’s Dust of 100 Dogs, and loving it.

I have a confession to make. I never really read (past tense) YA. I don’t know why. Even when I was in the supposed age bracket, I always read adult. In fact, I didn’t start reading YA until my agent said we should market TSM as YA/MG. I had never even thought about it, something I still find interesting considering I *am* a YA.

But what I’m finding, the thing that keeps drawing me back to it now (and this may be old hat to everyone else, but I’m learning now as I go) is how intensely READABLE it is. It’s like those wonderful friendships you have that are so easy and comfortable because they’re there and you just fall into them. That’s not to say YA = easy. Not at all. But I can melt away into it, into the directness and potency, without feeling terribly threatened/daunted/put off by the inaccessibility that denotes so much adult literary these days. And as much as I love a good *challenge*, right now, where I am right now, I need a good *book*. And that’s exactly what I’m getting.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “TBR Pile, and a YA Revelation

  1. kaerfel says:

    I never read YA as a kid either. In fact, I think I might have even looked down on it, since by sixth grade I was only reading adult fantasy. I was always writing YA and MG without knowing it, of course, and it’s funny that now that I’m an adult, I read only a slim few adult books, and tons of YA and MG! (I’m afraid by the time I’m middle aged I’ll only be reading picture books…)

  2. gosserville says:

    All I read and love is YA. I tend to feel so at home with YA-I relate to the stories-maybe because I’m the best grown up! I thought you wrote YA, your books sound like they would be right up my alley-by the way WAKE is so fantastic-loved it!!!!

  3. veschwab says:

    I DO write YA, but I didn’t realize that at first!

  4. veschwab says:

    Haha I feel you. Exactly.

Leave a Reply

