Friday Five

 1. I’m alive! Not done, but alive! And that is something. Thesis is written and all that’s left is Citations, printing (a larger ordeal than you might think) and assembly. 

2. The Near Witch first draft is done! This pleases me (Alex feel free to make me an icon so I can use it and display your beautiful work again :P) 

3. I told Agent Awesome I would send it to her monday. This makes me nervous. 

4.I just finished reading I am the Messenger. I have interesting feelings about it. One the one hand, I loved the story, really, truly loved it. But the writing, for me, was too much. It was too noticeable. And it took me out of the story constantly. Every line was infused with something. EVERY line. It got a bit tiresome. But the story was good. So I’m split. This makes me contemplative. 

5. I am planning an "editing game," and I’m freakishly excited. See, Agent Awesome and I want to get NW into tip top shape as soon as possible. So I’m enlisting 4-5 people (Agent’s enlisting 2) to be readers/critiquers. I’m giving each critter a candy bar of their choice, and a really pretty pen (a different color for each, I’m even giving red to the hardest and green to the nicest, etc. I have problems) and a hardcopy and a thousand thank you’s. Then, the readers will read and mark up, and I will compile all of their notes and compare, trying to weed out personal opinion and find the points of consensus. I have NO idea why I’m so excited about this. It might very well be the pretty pens. Maybe it’s what happens AFTER the book is pretty and shiny. But yes, this makes me happy.

Tagged ,

10 thoughts on “Friday Five

  1. Good work, you!
    About I AM THE MESSENGER: I had mixed feelings only here and there. Here: where the beauty of the writing distracted me from the story. There: with the metafictional conversation at the end of the book.
    Still, in balance, I loved it.

  2. j_cheney says:

    Congrats on #1 and 2…

  3. tessagratton says:

    That sounds fab. I love editing! The revision stage is so thrilling and bloody. Good luck!
    I can’t wait to read NW, based just on the little snippets!

  4. veschwab says:

    I love the neurotic structure behind the idea. I am not sure I will love the actual editing as much, only because I’m so eager for this story to be whole and shiny. It’s strange. I’ve never had anything come so easily. TSM was like pulling teeth the whole time.
    And thanks. I hope you get to read it!

  5. veschwab says:

    Haha thanks, at least there’s something to be excited about. It does a little to balance the balls all still up in the air. Now if only I could finish that darn thesis.

  6. veschwab says:

    Thanks! I def. had a little moment after I typed “The End.” It has been so strange, NW coming with relatively little pain. It just kind of happened, so I have to pretend like that’s a good sign.
    Re: Messenger. I had a pretty substantial problem with that end convo. I was loving the plot up until then. It felt a bit like a cop out. BUT, there were still a lot of things I loved.

  7. tessagratton says:

    Admittedly, I’m completely jealous of your revising. I am drafting right now, and it is also like pulling teeth. Every time I looked at the ms yesterday I deleted a thousand words. Total deleted: 10k. Blargh.
    Structural issues are really tricky aren’t they? But so worth it.

  8. veschwab says:

    Structural issues are definitely painful, but almost always worth it. It can be so hard to see through them to the awesomeness waiting, but it’s there. Like davinci, lol, who saw the sculptures in the stone when it was just a giant block of rock.
    Carve that rock babe 🙂 while I sit and polish mine.

  9. bluemalibu says:

    congratulations . . .i can see the dream coming true 🙂

  10. veschwab says:

    Aw thanks.
    It is SO hard to believe that a month and a half ago I made this post: http://veschwab.livejournal.com/49392.html.
    TSM took FOREVER. And then some. This story though, it just kind of fell out. I was lucky enough for it to come at me, to need me when I was really distraught about TSM.
    I just hope it grows into something. I have happy feelings toward it.

Leave a Reply

