Thankful Thursday

*For friends who have not seen Labyrinth, because then we get to throw Labyrinth parties and eat cupcakes and watch Bowie, and quite frankly that’s EXACTLY what I need right now.

*For all of my wonderful friends and family, both here on LJ, and on Fbook, and in the real world. You guys are wonderful. And thank you to those who sent personal notes. Really. ((hugs))

*For a distraction that has turned into a small passion: One of my favorite things about working on The Near Witch is that it’s a story in many ways about stories. This means I get to write the same stories, or overlapping stories in different ways. The Near Witch’s story is told by Lexi’s father, and then very differently by Magda, one of the two old sisters who might be witches. But another way we get the story is through the games the children play, the rhymes they sing. I love finding all the ways to tell a story, to give the reader the pieces they need, and the pieces my MC needs, to learn the truth.

*For Maggie’s LAMENT, which I’m FINALLY getting a chance to read, and am loving it passionately.

*For Anna Nalick, Nina Simone, Mirah, and the rest of my current playlist.

Just thank you, in general.

I can’t believe my spring break is in just over a week?! Why does this incite panic?

I went to order my cap and gown rentals yesterday for graduation, and for the first time, someone congratulated me. I said “for what?” and they said “graduating,” and then I wanted to vomit on them. The G word is frowned upon at the moment because of everything that is supposed to come AFTER.

DailyOm today tried to teach me about hard life lessons. Bravo DailyOm, you must be stalking me.

Tagged

10 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. *hugs* about the book thing, but yay for all the good things.

  2. I love Labyrinth and Bowie, and that movie sounds like some therapy for your book woes. I’m sending you cyber hugs laced with lots of hope 🙂

  3. patesden says:

    *hugs* I’m sorry about The Shadow Mile–but “not now” doesn’t mean it will never be published.
    I’m glad you’re taking care of yourself, Near Witch sounds wonderful–teasers, please?

  4. veschwab says:

    thank you, really.
    ((hugs))

  5. veschwab says:

    I’m looking forward to it. Especially because with thesis and the rest of school etc, I haven’t had time to do something fun.
    And thank you for you ((hugs)).

  6. veschwab says:

    I know. Right now I’m just going to focus on NW, let my wonderful agent do her job, and everything will be alright. I’m going to do everything in my power to believe it will.

  7. Wait – you know people who haven’t seen LABYRINTH? How is that possible?
    Also: LAMENT rocks.

  8. lilrongal says:

    I’ve just recently started listening to Anna Nalick again. Love her.

  9. veschwab says:

    I know, it’s inconceivable! We plan to rectify that tonight 🙂

Leave a Reply

