Songs and Scenes

Unlike some, I don’t really have a playlist for my projects. I come across songs I find motivational, or inspirational, but nothing firm or enduring.

But every now and then I stumble on a song that is so PERFECT for one of my songs that I can’t help but commit it to memory, itunes, etc. I tend to come upon them randomly, and know almost immediately that the song *belongs* with that scene.

Today was one of those days. I was driving home for a couple days (btw, I love driving and storms, but not the two together) and I had a CD in. I had never listened to the CD all the way through, and it came to song 17. It was short, only a couple minutes long. I listened to it absently. It ended. I played it again. And again. And I realized that this song was EXACTLY what the scene I was about to write was supposed to *feel* like.

It’s called Transylvanian Concubine, by Rasputina, and it’s not normally my style. But I was working on this scene in The Near Witch where the wind shapes itself to be my MC’s love interest, and lures her out onto the moors. The scene is eerie and magical and dark and kind of seductive. For some reason the song makes me think of wind, and the way it makes those dizzying circles with leaves in fall corners. 

Here is the song. (Click on the play button in the UPPER right corner if you want to listen, not the live version). 

I don’t want to admit how many times I proceeded to listen to it on the drive home, but I’m now convinced I’m ready to write this scene 🙂

Tagged , ,

12 thoughts on “Songs and Scenes

  1. bracken says:

    I totally know that song, but only because it was on the Buffy TV Show soundtrack. Love it!

  2. What a creepy, hypnotic waltz — cool!

  3. veschwab says:

    Haha you caught me! That’s the CD I was listening to…

  4. veschwab says:

    I know I was totally caught off guard when it came on, and now I can’t stop listening to it!

  5. leahclifford says:

    LOVE that song! Also, you need to listen to Rasputina’s version of Wish you were here…loud, and with headphones. It nearly brings me to tears every time it’s so beautiful.

  6. veschwab says:

    Ooh, will definitely check that out. Rasputina is proving perfect for this new project 🙂

  7. leahclifford says:

    They have a great list of songs…make sure you check out New Zero for sure.

  8. leeaverday says:

    I enjoy that song everytime I listen to that album. I especially like the Allison Kraus song on that CD. Jess and I saw her perform at the Grand Ole Opry here. And we love to dance to the Lucky song. It’s just a great CD.

  9. dina_james says:

    Rasputina is love. There’s just something utterly cool about Goth cellists! They do a cover of “Bad Moon Rising” that’s just amazing!

  10. veschwab says:

    I heard it, and I def ❤ it.
    I’m finding them to be perfect mood music.

  11. veschwab says:

    I really love the whole CD. My other fav. songs on there is Temptation Waits by Garbage.

  12. leeaverday says:

    Although I LOVED the show (hence the complete DVD collection) I think I was most excited by the surprise. I’ve gotten TV and Movie soundtracks before, and had been disappointed. But not this one.

Leave a Reply

