The Near Witch

*A teaser, but first, I want to redesign my LJ page. Can anyone recommend a good site for finding styles/themes?

*The Near Witch

“I’ll tell it the way my father did.”

Lexi’s voice slipped low and soft as she leaned back against the branch and fiddled with her father’s hunting knife. It was nicked along one edge but still incredibly sharp, the handle worn by his large fingers. Lexi liked to place her own narrow ones in the impressions.

“The Near Witch lived in a small house on the edge of the village. She was very old and very young depending on which way she turned her head. The moor streams were her blood and the moor grass was her skin, and her smile was kind and sharp at once like the moon on the moors in the black, black night. The Near Witch knew how to speak to the world in its language, and sometimes you didn’t know if the sound you heard beneath your door was the howling of the wind or the Near Witch singing the hills to sleep. It sounded the sam––what is it? What’s wrong, Cole?”

The boy had turned away and was staring into the dense strip of forest across the field.

“The wind changed,” he whispered, eyes fixed on something Lexi couldn’t yet see. She shivered as the air turned and the grass gave a collective hush. And then, she drew a sharp breath. A figure walked out from the trees–not from behind them or between them, it seemed in the dark, but from them, like bark peeling away from the trunk. Lexi tightened her grip on her father’s knife.

*

Tagged

8 thoughts on “The Near Witch

  1. veschwab says:

    oohh, thank you 🙂
    it’s my current love affair, since my WIP is high-maintenance.

  2. Love the voice here, and the storytelling eeriness, and the mystery. Well done!

  3. veschwab says:

    Why thank you. I’m glad it’s coming off sufficiently eerie 🙂

  4. bachsoprano says:

    Ooo, I love that! Creepy in a good way!

  5. veschwab says:

    Thanks! I’m glad to hear it’s a bit eerie. I’m such a wuss I never know :p

  6. patesden says:

    Love it–though now I feel a bit deprived because I want to know what happens next:)

  7. veschwab says:

    Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it.
    Check back next Tuesday for another glimpse :p Hopefully I’ll have written it by then lol.

Leave a Reply

