TBR books guilt you with their puppy dog covers

Happy Tuesday all. A rather random post. It’s snowy and white here, and I’m snuggling up with a cup of tea. Mmm.

Before I start, I have to thank Alex for this: bracken.livejournal.com/78516.html

Now, I need to address something. My TBR pile.

My To-Be-Read pile is embarrassing. I have this little problem with buying books (as in I got a $25 gift card and proceeded to buy $50 worth of books the other day). But the TBR pile I have right now is not only impressive. It’s exciting! Sooo many good titles. I cannot, however, buy more books until I at least make a dent (it would be a lost cause to say no more books until I read ALL of them).

Perhaps at some point I should work on my seminar project, the deadline for which approaches with terrifying speed! But for now, I’m going to cozy up with my tea and my mountain of reading pleasure.

So what are you guys reading? 

Tagged

15 thoughts on “TBR books guilt you with their puppy dog covers

  1. rj_anderson says:

    I’m reading SONGBIRD by Lisa Samson, as it’s part of my research into bipolar disorder. It’s… not my usual kind of thing, but it’s well written. It’s a bit of an effort to keep going back to it, though. I’m much more excited about James Bow’s THE YOUNG CITY, which is historical/time-travelling YA and the third in a trilogy I’ve much enjoyed.

  2. tessagratton says:

    I just reviewed THE HUNGER GAMES in in my blog this morning. It is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. So, I highly recommend you dive into that one.

  3. latteya says:

    OMG, you’ve got some great ones there. Put down your life and start reading:) The Historian is my fave of the lot, but Water For Elephants and The Book Thief are to die for. The Hunger Games is fast, you won’t put it down. Oops. Better quit before I talk you into reading all of them…

  4. That looks like a good pile ‘o books! I’ve read several of them, and know you’ve got some treats coming your way.
    What I’m reading.
    The Explosionist by Jenny Davidson
    Babylonne by Catherine Jinks
    Wondrous Strange by Lesley Livingston

  5. I’ve been holding off starting Need by Carrie Jones because if the power goes off in this storm I want it around. I’m getting very impatient though. lol

  6. I have Graceling in my TBR pile, too. And The Book Thief, which has been there so long I kinda keep forgetting to count it anymore. I read I Am the Messenger and The Hunger Games, which was hands-down the best YA novel I read last year. I’d start with that, because it will go quickly.

  7. Oooh – NEED is so good!!

  8. veschwab says:

    I’m almost finished with Cracked Up to Be (which is so fast and sharp, I recommend it) and then I’m going Hunger Games. I want to read Graceling, but it’s a little too close to the genre of my WIP and I am careful not to mix that kind of thing.

  9. veschwab says:

    Need is on my next “To Buy” list šŸ™‚

  10. veschwab says:

    Oh I’m excited. Let me know how you like Wondrous Strange. It’s been on my “To Buy” list for awhile now šŸ™‚

  11. veschwab says:

    So I have this problem where I tend to read multiple books at the same time (it stems from school and having required reading and pleasure reading). The Historian is an ongoing read for me, and I’m loving it.
    I want to read The Book Thief because one of my main characters in TSM is Death šŸ™‚
    Glad to know I’ve picked some winners!

  12. veschwab says:

    It’s up next for me, once I finish Cracked Up to Be. I’m very excited!

  13. veschwab says:

    I haven’t heard of these, so I’ll have to check them out! Thanks for expanding my To Buy list šŸ™‚

  14. So far it’s pretty good. If I like it I’ll blog about it at some point in a reading roundup.

  15. beedeecee says:

    there’s something so decadent about a TBR pile, though. mine has significantly dwindled in the past year as i cut my book budget and used the library much more. but i still have one, regardless of where they came from.
    i just finished American Wife (like JUST, as in 5 minutes ago), and am getting ready to start Lessons From a Dead Girl. i’m also picking up Let It Snow and Breathing Underwater from the library before friday. and don’t even get me started on the ones i’ve borrowed and that were recently sent to me from a friend. oy.

Leave a Reply

