Pretentiousness is Ugly

I love writing, obviously, passionately. The logical outlet at my school was to get a writing minor (we don’t have a major), and I had one class left to fulfill my requirements: Advanced Fiction, or Fiction 3, or as I am quickly coming to call it, The Place Where Pretentiousness is Palpable. It’s bad. Really bad. Between the two students who sit in the corner and snicker and make faces at any remark they find lacking (and then write notes to each other in the most obvious way), and those whose noses immediately crinkle at the word “genre,” and those who think their sixteen unpublished works of genius qualify them to judge everyone…it’s bad. I’m fighting, you guys. Fighting for YA and for unfair stereotypes now latent in a culture in which the general population is so black and white that there’s no territory between “literary” and “crap” (real words used in class). Someone grant me the strength to NOT spring across the table and beat anyone with their own moleskines*.

On a nicer note, I wanted to email my agent realllly badly, because I’m restless and she puts up with me, but I resisted! And then, my sad excuse for discipline was rewarded and she emailed me! Nothing terribly exciting, but I’m glad I resisted the temptation. I didn’t even have a good email excuse.

Off to the gym. Finally on the mend after being sick for the last week and a half. Hopefully I’ll be able to breathe on the treadmill.

*Nothing whatsoever against moleskines.

Tagged

7 thoughts on “Pretentiousness is Ugly

  1. lilrongal says:

    A writing class destroyed my desire to write for years. The people in those classes are sometimes total jerks.

  2. tessagratton says:

    Ugh. I took a couple of graduate level writing courses, and while they weren’t *horrible* they definitely made me glad I was mostly just there for the incredibly nerdy Old English classes.
    The professor, at least, seemed to genuinely want to help me write better even though I was not writing trad lit.
    Good luck.

  3. bracken says:

    Oh, SWEET JESUS I HATED taking writing classes!!! I don’t even like working on my Honors Thesis!!
    HUGS BECAUSE YOU NEED THEM!

  4. veschwab says:

    Thank you. I have a feel I WILL need them. If only the hugs were sharp and capable of rendering elitist students mute.
    BTW, why do you always have THE MOST BEAUTIFUL icons? So gorgeous. Always.

  5. veschwab says:

    The professor is nice, but I just can’t believe the environment! Toxic. And the worst of all is I was going to do an MFA! Now, I just want to get through this course without being jailed for English-student on student crime.

  6. veschwab says:

    It’s unbelievable. I just have to mentally check out a little bit, find my zen before entering. I’m guarding my love of words so that they can’t hurt it.

  7. ravens_writ says:

    I think I’ve sat in on that class–not sure though, I’ve tried to block the memory. 🙂 Hang in there. At least you’re back in the world of exercise induced endorphins.

Leave a Reply

