New York!

I’m off to NY city in the morning for a short (two-day) school trip. I’m a bit disappointed with my school’s scheduling of all this, but I’m really super excited, because before the actual trip begins, I get to meet my agent!

I was unsure about emailing her at first, because I felt somehow invalid, having not sold the book yet (it’s going back out to a select few veeerry soon) and I know most only meet their agents when/if they get to go meet their publishers. BUT I sucked it up and emailed her and I’m SO happy I did. I get to see FinePrint Lit, her agency, and then we’re going out for coffee at a place called Cupcake Cafe.

Then, on the 7th, my school trip begins, and our group (around 10 of us) is going to Men’s Health, and an Alum party.

On the 8th, we’re going to Random House! And of course, I’m excited for a totally different reason than my designer classmates. They mentioned goodie bags of books and I squeeled.

Here’s where my program let me down.

We were *supposed* to schedule info interviews (where we ask successful people in the industry questions about how they got to be so awesome) for the AFTERNOON of the 8th. The only time said successful people are really available is, of course, lunch. THEN, my program goes and schedules PENGUIN from 12-3:30! What?! How can they expect people in publishing to have time to meet with us in the middle of their work day the first week back?! AND and and, they didn’t give us our schedule until TONIGHT. So, of course, my info interview is a lunch meeting, and I can’t attend the tour and info session at Penguin 😦

But, I’m still very excited for the trip, even if the “program” wasn’t well organized. This is my first taste of NY, and I’m hoping I’ll have a reason to go back soon! :p

PS. I am completely and hopelessly addicted to the Wii Fit.

Tagged ,

11 thoughts on “New York!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Me = Jealous! I shall think of you and A, ~*sparkling*~ up NY! I keep imagining FinePrint in a building that has a Harry Potteresque Hogwarts aesthetic because FinePrint and its agents are so magical. 😉 (It is a logical conclusion!) ~*~ I’m sorry the program let you down, 😦 but I bet you’ll have a memorable time regardless. Yay! Have fun!!!
    courtney

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yay for NYC! Oh I love the cupcake cafe! It’s right by my sister’s apt, so we’ve been there quite a few times. (I think there are two locations though?)
    It’s funny because I work in NYC, and I’ve never met my agent. I feel weird bringing up the subject, most clients who travel to New York are only there for a short time. But I’m here every day! (Though her office isn’t in NYC, she commutes in once a week for editor meetings).
    Anyway, have a great time and I hope all your meetings and tours turn out well! Sorry about missing Penguin.

  3. veschwab says:

    I can’t see why it would be anything less than magical! 🙂

  4. veschwab says:

    I’m excited, it’s my first time to the city (a travesty)!
    Honestly I felt weird about telling my agent I’d be there for a couple days, but she just seemed like such an awesome person, I wanted to meet her.

  5. afraclose says:

    Have a good time on your trip! And good luck!

  6. beedeecee says:

    oh, your trip sounds like it will be so much fun, and i have to say, i’m a bit envious of that goodie bag of books! 🙂
    i felt the same way about contacting my agent when i went to NY in october, as i haven’t yet sold a book and had only signed with her at the end of august. but i was so glad i did and we had a really good meeting. i’m sure you will do the same.
    enjoy your trip! 🙂

  7. veschwab says:

    Still here, but had to say you were totally right. I’m so so happy I met with her!
    Will post on it when I get home.

  8. Have a great time and good luck! I love NY!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

