Relief

It’s funny that in a time of too much stress/anxiety/emotional fatigue, turning to the familiar embrace of The Shadow Mile, the characters I know so well, the world I built, the story I understand, is so incredibly…soothing.

I sat down to work on the sequel today, worried that the few days I’d spent away would leave me playing mental catch-up, would make it harder to write. Instead, when I opened the document, scrolled to the bottom of page 93 where I left off almost a week ago, it felt good. Easy. Not easy in terms of writing. Easy in terms of thinking, remembering. I fell back into the groove of the story, the voices, the mood. It was such a relief. I needed that. So many questions, so much uncertainty in my life right now, but not this.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Relief

  1. Yup, you’re a writer 🙂
    Sorry about the emotional upheaval. *hugs*

  2. veschwab says:

    Thanks 🙂 This too shall pass, just some college-senior-escapist + inevitable-questioning-of-direction-and-life stress. But it IS nice to have something I’m passionate about to turn to for comfort (in addition to chocolate).

Leave a Reply

