Onward

So, I was in need of a pep talk. Not so much regarding the aforementioned rejection, but things have just been a bit draining lately. Yesterday was one of those days where the world conspires against you, and nothing cooperates. We all have our highs and lows, and I needed to get back up.

Perspective is something I strive for, and more often than not fail to achieve. (I blame my youth, but I’m sincerely trying). I want to shed my dweller’s skin and look forward. Because life is exciting! I spend too much time missing it.

And as the season shifts, and my favorite time of year approaches–that glorious Fall, where the world succeeds in dying more perfectly than anything does in living–I want to inhale that wonderful, cool air and look forward, look up, look around…anywhere but back.

What do you guys tell yourself when you need to get back on your feet? Do you have a mantra?
*

My teaser today is simply a quote. Not mine, but one I feel sums up The Shadow Mile:

“To die will be an awfully big adventure.”
-J.M. Barrie

2 thoughts on “Onward

  1. marylovesya says:

    When I need perspective, I get out of the house and do something I don’t usually do. I work at home, so that’s a pretty basic premise: change of scenery, clearing of the head.
    Even if it’s to get a cup of coffee and read, I like to head to a cafe I’ve never been or go on a walk I’ve never done. Physically, literally seeing new things helps me see new things about my situation. =)

  2. veschwab says:

    I totally agree with the physical movement. I always feel like the only way to still my mind is to move my feet.

Leave a Reply

