Rejection is an Ugly Word

I got my first “rejection,” but I don’t like that word, so let’s call it a “munchkin.”

I got my first munchkin today, which made me sad, but it wasn’t a bad munchkin. In fact it was only a munchkin because of age — the giver of the munchkin felt my story would do better in a different age bracket. Agent and I will wait and see if more munchkins roll in before we assess the possible edits.

See? That was much more bearable with the word substitution.

And because of that munchkin, I went and swam a new personal distance best, to blow of steam. 5,000 meters! Woohoo. That’s 200 lengths, or 100 laps, or 1 hr 32 min straight. So even a munchkin has an upside.

Tagged ,

20 thoughts on “Rejection is an Ugly Word

  1. Heehee…I like your coping strategy. I’m rooting for you!

  2. veschwab says:

    Why thank you! I’ve been rooting for you since I first came upon your page, and continue to wish you much success, Jackie 🙂

  3. Munchkin . . .
    Yes, that is a much better way to say it! I’m rooting for you, too. 🙂

  4. juliakarr says:

    I’ve had way too many munchkins in my life – I hope you have fewer! :^)

  5. veschwab says:

    Haha thank you! 🙂

  6. veschwab says:

    Thanks! I don’t want too many munchkins.

  7. jenlibrarian says:

    ooh, love the word substitution! great idea! 🙂
    I’ve had a few munchkins myself…

  8. veschwab says:

    Haha thanks, I’m a fan of word substitution in general. This makes it much easier to handle. “Munchkin” is fun to type, but I hope I don’t have to type it too much more.

  9. brookesbooks says:

    When I started riding horses, I got bucked off. I was congratulated, because you aren’t really a cowboy/cowgirl unless you’ve been bucked off. Well, that’s how it is with authors and munchkins. So, congrats!
    (I don’t know of any other endeavor besides these two where your first thump is considered a good thing)

  10. veschwab says:

    Thank you! I’ll take my scars.

  11. Sorry about the Munchkin. Of course, I’m grinning as I say that. Love the coping strategy. So, what are you going to call it when you get an acceptance? 🙂

  12. veschwab says:

    Haha then I’ll call it a book deal, since that makes me smile even more than “munchkin”

  13. jemacleod says:

    That is a kick ass swim. I am a bad swimmer. I think 500 m is a good swim.
    GOod luck with your sub!

  14. veschwab says:

    500 meters is a good swim! When I started, I think 6 years ago, I only swam 250 meters. I would do it after running to cool down. I just kept building on it. I didn’t think swimming was even enjoyable until I could swim 2000.

  15. sharpegirl says:

    Yay, another swimmer 🙂
    I’m sorry about the munchkin.

  16. marylovesya says:

    How’s it going with the munchkins?

  17. veschwab says:

    It’s going ok. Two more, but neither was bad. One said she’d love to look again with rev. And another edtior jumped in the boat. So it’s out with 4 right now.
    How’s your quest going? I know you started a little before me.
    It’s been painfully slow/quiet. My agent said everything would pick back up after Labor Day. I hope we both get great news 🙂 if you haven’t already.

  18. marylovesya says:

    Not good news for me, I’m afraid. We’re still out with a few but I think we’re going to scrap this project for the moment and concentrate on something else. I’ve got a lot of revisions to do on it. We’ll see if anybody gets back with good news but… if not… I’ve got two books that I’m finishing up right now.
    The book not selling was my worst nightmare, now that it looks like that might indeed happen, there’s nowhere to go but up. I’m actually kind of glad that I got to experience the thing I was most afraid of, it made everything a whole lot less scary!
    Keeping my fingers crossed for you!

  19. veschwab says:

    Keep your chin up. You haven’t heard back from everyone. Silly as it sounds, it does only take one.
    If you do step back for now, it’s awesome you have two other projects! That’s two more than I have.

  20. marylovesya says:

    Haha, I’m not really tripping about it. I was for a little while but hey – whatever happens with it, I’ve got tons of new ideas for the project with all the feedback we’ve gotten.
    I’ve just learned pretty clearly that historical isn’t quite my thing. =P

Leave a Reply

