The Winter YA Scavenger Hunt!!

EDITED TO ADD: THE YA SCAVENGER HUNT IS OFFICIALLY OVER. Check back in the next few days to see who won my extra swag giveaway! And thank you for playing!!!

Hello, lovelies, and welcome to the Winter YA Scavenger Hunt!

My name is Victoria Schwab. This is me (clinging to a gate really high off the ground at some ruins)…

…and I’m the author of THE NEAR WITCH (on shelves now) and THE ARCHIVED (coming in January), and your host for this leg of the scavenger hunt!

If this is your first stop, don’t worry! You can start the hunt on any one of the participating blogs, so sit tight, read through, collect your clues, and then head off to find the next post!

WHAT IS THE YA SCAVENGER HUNT?

This tri-annual event was first organized by author Colleen Houck as a way to give readers a chance to gain access to exclusive bonus material from their favorite authors…and a chance to win some awesome prizes!

At this hunt, you not only get access to exclusive content from each author, you also get a clue for the hunt.

Add up the clues, and you can enter for our prize–one lucky winner will receive one signed book from each author on the hunt in my team (that’s 25 books)! But play fast: this contest (and all the exclusive bonus material) will only be online for 72 hours!

This year there are two team, the RED and the BLUE!

I’m on the RED team!

If you click HERE you can see all the participating authors and the books they’ll be giving away as prizes! You’re on the RED hunt right now, but when you’re done, you can also play the BLUE one! Just make sure to keep the numbers straight.

Directions: Below, you’ll notice that I’ve listed my favorite number (or at least, I’ve told you how to find it). Collect the favorite numbers of all the authors on the RED team, and then add them up (don’t worry, you can use a calculator!).

Entry Form: Once you’ve added up all the numbers, make sure you fill out the form here to officially qualify for the grand prize. Only entries that have the correct number will qualify.

Rules: Open internationally, anyone below the age of 18 should have a parent or guardian’s permission to enter. To be eligible for the grand prize, you must submit the completed entry form by SUNDAY, DECEMBER 2ND AT NOON PST. Entries sent without the correct number or without contact information will not be considered.

Now that we’re all on the same page, here we go!

SCAVENGER HUNT POST

Today I am hosting the delightful Jessica Khoury, author of ORIGIN!

She is only 22 (daaaaang, make the 25-year-old feel old) and when she’s not writing awesome books about rainforest laboratory experiments gone wrong (or very right), she lives in Toccoa, Georgia with her husband Benjamin, two terrible dogs and three contrary birds, and an abundance of books, shoes, and sweet tea.

Jessica’s book, ORIGIN:

Pia has grown up in a secret laboratory hidden deep in the Amazon rain forest. She was raised by a team of scientists who have created her to be the start of a new immortal race. But on the night of her seventeenth birthday, Pia discovers a hole in the electric fence that surrounds her sterile home–and sneaks outside the compound for the first time in her life.

Free in the jungle, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Together, they embark on a race against time to discover the truth about Pia’s origin–a truth with deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.

Origin is a beautifully told, shocking new way to look at an age-old desire: to live forever, no matter the cost.

SO SHINY, RIGHT?

To learn more about Jessica and her book, watch the trailer, and click on lots of fun tabs (if you’re a tab-clicker, like me) check out her website HERE.
And to pick up her epic debut, CLICK HERE.

Now it’s time for some *dun dun dun* EXCLUSIVE CONTENT!!

Jessica has a very special treat for you today! She’s written you an exclusive scene!! It’s brand new, not found in ORIGIN, and it’s told from Eio’s point of view the night he and Pia meet for the first time.

Ooooooooh.

To read it, CLICK HERE!

Go ahead, I’ll wait.

Are you back? Wasn’t that delicious?

I suppose you’re wondering what my favorite number is now so you can add it to the other favorite numbers on the RED team and win a truck load of awesome books, including Jessica’s.

Well…my favorite number is the sum of the two numbers in my current age. HINT: I mention my age in this post! Look up a little ways, and you’ll find it ;) Add up the two numbers, and you’ve got my favorite one!

Almost time to move on, but first, an EXTRA TREAT!

As a thank-you for stopping by, I’m giving away an ARCHIVED swag pack, complete with signed tote bag, stickers, bookmarks, AND a signed paperback of my first book, THE NEAR WITCH!

(THE NEAR WITCH is obviously already INSIDE the bag)

All you have to do to enter is fill out the form!

And now it’s time to CONTINUE THE HUNT.

To keep going on your quest for the magic numbers, you need to check out the next author!

Who will it be? Why, it’s none other than the amazing Colleen Houck!CLICK HERE to go on!

Happy hunting!

123 thoughts on “The Winter YA Scavenger Hunt!!

  1. Leigh Caroline says:

    I find it brilliant that you’re hosting Jessica, as I JUST read Origin last week. (Sad part is? I picked it up at BEA, and it got stuck in a box while we moved… and it took me this long to hunt it up, while I was looking for another book!) Awesomeness!

  2. LOVE the Scavenger Hunt:)

    My favorite book last year was Veronica Rossi’s Under the Never Sky – both the characters and plot were awesome:)

    I follow you on Twitter @christinafiorio and I liked the page on Facebook Christina Rita Condomaros

    Thank you:)

    ccfioriole at gmail dot com

  3. Pica says:

    My favorite YA read this year… oh, how can I choose?
    My four favorites were: Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers, Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore, The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy, and The False Prince by Jennifer Nielsen.

  4. Ashfa says:

    Wow, this hunt is great, I’m already excited! As for my favorite YA of 2012, I’m going with The Fault in Our Stars.

  5. Lillian says:

    Sooooo exciting! So many books–authors, so little time! Code Name Verity is one of my favorites!

  6. Brittany says:

    So excited the Scavenger Hunt is back! I think my favorite of 2012 was Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson!

  7. Kate says:

    Thanks for such a cool extra giveaway! My favorite 2012 was Shadow & Bone by Leigh Bardugo, with Nevermore by James Patterson following closely behind!

  8. It is a super tough call, but I think The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay was my favourite read this year.

  9. dragongirl says:

    I have so many favorites, but I’d have to say The Fault in Our Stars by John Green! Heartbreakingly beautiful. <3

  10. Alicia says:

    Favorite was Deity by JL Armentrout!!

  11. My favorite YA of this year is Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry!

  12. I’m really not sure I could narrow my book down to 1. I have quite a few that I’ve read this year that were AMAZING. Tiger’s Destiny, Onyx, Under the Never Sky, Arise, Hmm.. there’s SO many that I absolutely adored this year! I can’t WAIT for Archived, either!

  13. Elizabeth/@lizzluff says:

    It’s so hard picking a favorite new book for 2012! I’d probably have to say ‘The Evolution of Mara Dyer’ by Michelle Hodkin, though.

  14. Dreams says:

    My favorite book I read this year was Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry. A fact I find surprising since I read more paranormal books than contemporary books.

  15. Vivien says:

    Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard

  16. Desiree says:

    There have been sooo many AH-MAZ-ING books in 2012, but my very favorite have to be Under The never Sky by Veronica Rossi!

  17. Llehn says:

    Crown of Embers hands down!

  18. Eva says:

    Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park (followed closely by Onyx!)

  19. My favourite YA of 2012…I have so many…but my top 4 would be: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry, Deity by Jennifer L. Armentrout, Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols and Poison Princess by Kresley Cole! :D

  20. Kierra says:

    I’m confused about how to get your favorite number? What two numbers do you add up? :/

  21. Kirsten W says:

    My favorite book this year? Hm, I’m going to have to choose Cinder.

  22. Kayley F. says:

    My favorite YA books released this year are Obsidian and Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I’m super excited for Opal to come out next month.

  23. Jessy says:

    Everyday by David Levithan was my favorite.

  24. Natasha Ward says:

    My favorite YA book this year is Tigers destiny from colleen houck. And i’m really lookin forward to reading Origin by Jessica

  25. Breana M. says:

    My favorite YA book this year would be Dark Frost by Jennifer Estep. :)

  26. Lisa R says:

    I loved Rachel Vincent’s Before I Wake!! It was sooo good! Thanks for the giveaway!! (only enter me if open to Canada please) :D

  27. Vi3tBabe says:

    Anything from Jennifer Armentrout!

  28. This is such a hard question! I adored Sacrifice by Stacey Rourke! Thanks so much!

  29. This is always a tough question. I loved Under the Never Sky. Can’t wait for book 2

  30. So tough! Probably Every Day by David Levithan, with TFIOS by John Green and Ask the Passengers by A.S. King also close favorites.

  31. Kait L. says:

    My favorite YA of the year was The Sea of Tranquility. Thanks for the opportunity to win! :]

  32. Suzanne says:

    LIke everyone else, I’d say just one is hard, but right now, the most recent favorite is probably Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. Or Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan….

  33. Mariah says:

    My favorite YA has been For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

  34. ivie says:

    Loved Divergent by Veronica Ross, Matched by Ally Condie, Black Hole Sun by David M Gill and many more!

  35. Tiffany B. says:

    Too many to count-Insurgent, Finale, Dreamless, Something Strange and Deadly, The Immortal Rules, Until I Die…
    2012 has been a good year for YA novels :)

  36. 2012 was awesome! Insurgent, The Fault in Our Stars, Night Road, Croak ,blah. TOO MANY!!

  37. Stormdancer, Ten, Onyx :D its was hard to choose…

  38. Mary H says:

    It’s way too hard to choose a favorite author for 2012. I’ve read several books by “old” favorites like Cassandra Clare, Ally Carter, Elizabeth Eulberg, Meg Cabot, Claudia Gray and Richelle Mead, but then I’ve read some pretty spectacular reads from new authors that have become favorites: TLC, Beth Revis, Cynthia Hand, Ally Condie, Veronicas Roth & Rossi, Laurens Oliver & DeStefano, Josephine Angelini, Libba Bray and more! Don’t make me choose! ;)

  39. Reese's says:

    Soo hard to pick but I will have to go with Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout 8) That books the reason I started blogging

  40. Gaby N says:

    My favorite has been Shine by Jeri Smith-Ready

  41. Nicolet Gouma says:

    My favourite has been… Insurgent by Veronica Roth and Easy by Tamarra Webber. ;))

  42. Evie says:

    Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  43. Monica G. says:

    My Favorite is The Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare! :)

  44. Carmen B. says:

    It’s so hard to pick a favorite among so many great books! Among my top reads were The Shadow Society by Maria Rutkoski, Carnival of Souls by Melissa Marr, and Black Heart by Holly Black.
    Thanks so much for the chance to win! The concept for The Archived sounds so unique :)

  45. Artemis says:

    My favorite YA book this year was City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare.
    Thank you so much for participating and the giveaway!

    (FB name: Demitra Giote)

  46. Danielle Nguyen says:

    I can’t pick one favorite. It’s impossible. But my top 3 of 2012 were Black Heart, The Fault in Our Stars, and The Raven Boys. SO GOOD.

  47. Sunny says:

    Probably the Fault in Our Stars!

  48. My favorite is Project ELE! It’s a great book and the second book is out and I’m trying to get my hands on it. Awesome indie authors I can’t help but brag about.

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  49. Mine was Angelfall by Susan Ee :)

  50. PamM says:

    So many good ones this year but I will say Alice in Zombieland is one and Sweet Evil.

  51. janette friesen says:

    Loved Shatter Me by Tehereh Mafi…cannot wait for number 2!

  52. Tara says:

    Eternal by Debra Glass!
    Thanks for the giveaway

  53. The Fault in Our Stars
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  54. Sabrina says:

    Emblaze

  55. maybe31 says:

    Rachel Caine’s Bitter Blood

  56. Solana Warner says:

    My favorite was Croak by Gina Damico! :)

  57. Emz says:

    It’s incredibly hard to pick a favorite book from 2012 – so many good ones came out. But if I had to chose, I’ll pick…probably BLACK HEART by Holly Black (did that even come out this year?)

  58. Merisha A says:

    my favorite was Tiger’s Destiny

  59. megan says:

    oh thats really hard since i read so much
    shadow and bone
    days of blood and starlight
    unspoken
    the raven boys
    canaval of souls
    and there a lot more….
    -megan

  60. Kimberly B. says:

    Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  61. My favorite read (well, one of) was Insurgent by Veronica Roth. Thanks for the amazing giveaway!!

  62. briana says:

    My favorite reads would be A Million Suns by Beth Revis and Dreamless by Josephine Angelini.

  63. My favorite book of 2012 would be Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout! I would recommend it to everyone!

  64. Carmel says:

    Fave reads would be Easy, The Opportunist, The False Prince, Lies Beneath. Thanks for the giveaway! xx

  65. Kristina Adaza says:

    My favorite YA of 2012 is Rae Carson’s The Crown of Embers. It’s an excellent sequel to The Girl of Fire and Thorns.

  66. Mariella says:

    Mi Favorite YA of 2012 is Jennifer L. Armentrout – Deity

  67. Amy says:

    My favourite YA book of 2012 would have to be Entice by Jessica Shirvington!!

  68. Monica says:

    My favorite YA of 2012 would have to be… Embrace by Jessica Shirvington.

  69. Cassandra says:

    I loved Joy Preble’s Anastasia Forever! It was a beautiful way to end the trilogy.

  70. Gabbie says:

    Under the Never Sky was my favourite YA of :)

  71. Jesselle says:

    My favorite YA of 2012 is The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. Thanks for this awesome giveaway! :)

  72. Holly Forbes says:

    My favorite is the Raven Boys!! Thanks!!

  73. Annabelle H says:

    Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone!

  74. alaielkreuz says:

    My favorite read of 2012 would be Pushing the Limits :D

    Thanks for being part of YASH!

  75. Courtney Pierce says:

    Goddess by Josephine Angelini

  76. Yay giveaway! I’m praying it’s international cos I’m dying to read your books!

    Also, favourite of the year – Daughter of Smoke and Bone & Days of Blood and Starlight. The series is awesome, I can’t just choose ONE book.

  77. I’ve read soo many good books this year!! My favorite has got to be either Code Name Verity or The Miseducation of Cameron Post : )

  78. My favorite is If I Lie by Corrine Jackson (well one of my favorite’s lol… it’s almost too hard to pick!) Thanks for the giveaway!

  79. Brooke says:

    My favorite 2012 book so far is Deity by Jennifer Armentrout

  80. Elie says:

    so many favorites… so far …. Immortal Rules sticks out in my brain right now. Thanks for the fun!

  81. Claire says:

    I’d have to go with Cinder as my favorite YA of 2012, but there were so many great ones this year! Can’t wait to see what 2013 has to bring.

  82. Becca says:

    Divergent and Insurgent were my favorite this year but so hard to choose, so many wonderful books and authors out there

  83. Hannah McCormick says:

    The Selection and Mark of Athena were my favourate books this year, but there are so many good ones!
    hannaharomatic@hotmail.co.uk

  84. Tessa Van Diest says:

    My favorite books this years was Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Obisidian and Onyx, but there were also a lot of other books that I liked!!!

  85. MannaB says:

    My favorite YA book of 2012 was either Whispers at Moonrise by C.C. Hunter or Dark Frost by Jennifer Estep

  86. 4shl3y says:

    My Favorite ya read so far? I can’t decide there are so many good– no GREAT books out there. How can you make me choose?!

  87. worse question to ask, but I’l try and answer it.

    The best book that I have read this year (and I’m going with one I recently finished, so its one of many favorites) is The Lazarus Machine by Paul Crilley.

  88. Megan says:

    My favorite has been The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead!

    Thank you so much for the opportunity to win a great giveaway!

  89. Ellen Trieu says:

    My favorite YA read that i read in 2012 has to be The Tiger’s Curse Series by Colleen Houck, I enjoyed every book that’s out so far, and it has become one of my absolute favorites! (: <3

  90. Nour says:

    I loved Under the Never Sky

  91. one of my favorite books this year was dreamless by josephine angelini, there are just so many lol.

  92. Teen Blurb says:

    My favorite book of the year was Until I Die by Amy Plum

  93. There are so many great authors, that are so popular, but a new author to me is Joy Preble, and i am looking forward to reading ANASTASIA FOREVER!!

  94. Jaime G. says:

    My favorite YA book of 2012 was Onyx by Jennifer Armentrout!

  95. Ashley snyder says:

    um.. ugh. there are so many… i liked pushing the limits… um.. aaand. ooh. my favorite YA read of this year was the assassins curse. :D loved that mother.

  96. Kristie Matheson says:

    One of my favorite reads this year was Insugrent. I only read Divergent this year and fell in love. <3 Tobias

  97. My favorite YA read of this year is Erasing Time by C.J. Hill. :)

  98. Tammy Campau says:

    My favorite book of the year has been What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang and I just listed The Archived as the one from the YASH I’m most excited to read :)

  99. Tiffani says:

    Two of my favorite books of 2012 is ORIGIN by Jessica Khoury and The Selection by Kiera Cass.

  100. Angelica says:

    My fave books of 2012 is Melissa Marr’s Carnival of the Souls.

  101. Jessi Peterson says:

    Technically last year – but I didn’t get to it till now – Where Things Come Back

  102. froze8 says:

    My favorite book of 2012 is Legend by Marie Lu :) I knew her before she was published as one of my favorite artists so :)…

    Can’t wait for The Archived! I carry my bag everywhere!

    -K8
    http://froze8.blogspot.com/

  103. D. Ann says:

    I have two favorite books for 2012, Cinder by Marissa Meyer and Lichgates by S. M. Boyce. I couldn’t just pick one!

  104. Marie-Michel says:

    Under the never sky by Veronica Roth!

  105. Inky says:

    Defiance by CJ Redwine and Venom by Fiona Paul

  106. Elena says:

    Super Exited about Josephine Angelini’s Goddess. :) Thanks for the giveaway!

  107. Anubha says:

    My fav read is The Forever Girl

  108. I super loved Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff. :D Thanks for participating in the YASH, Victoria!

  109. Laura says:

    Really excited by Jennifer L Armentrout Opal, lea nolan`s conjure and Rachel Harris`s My super sweet sixteenth century.

  110. Tiffaney Rice says:

    Loving YASH, my favorite of 2012 wa Onyx by Jennifer l Armentrout

  111. Rose. P says:

    I’m having so much fun with the YASH! My favorite YA book this year has to be Divergent! I absolutely loved it!

  112. Thanks for the giveaway, Victoria! Two of my favourite reads this year were Seraphina by Rachel Hartman and For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund.

  113. Iffath says:

    Um, probably The Fault In Our Stars <3 SO MUCH LOVE FOR THAT BOOK!

  114. Cassie says:

    I love love loved The Evolution of Mara Dyer!

  115. Hmmm…..favorite YA of this yr?? It’ll have to be both Dreamless by Josephine Angelini and Until I Die by Amy Plum. Thanks for this giveaway!!

  116. Christina says:

    There is no possible way that I could possibly pick a favorite for the year, so I’ll just have to tell you my most favorite *recent* YA book which is Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.

    Thanks for participating in the WINTER YASH and for hosting the additional giveaway!

    ~Christina(2227)

  117. Echo says:

    My favorite YA book this year was Mark of Athena. I just love Rick Riordan’s series.

  118. Calla says:

    Hands down Uncontrollable by S. R. Johannes! Followed by basically every other book!

  119. My favourite was Insurgent by Veronica Roth.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 13,361 other followers

