The post on why Victoria is leaving NYC (giveaway winners at the end).

I announced a few days ago that, in just over a month, I’ll be leaving New York, and I wanted to take a few minutes and explain why.

Many of you have been with me since my NYC adventure began, watched the highs and lows of it–if you read THIS POST, you know that the transition hasn’t been an easy one–and it’s funny but I feel the need to explain.

Maybe because I have always championed doing the thing that tests you, and takes you out of your comfort zone, and leaving seems like retreat (a generous word), and quitting (a word less kind).

The thing is, New York is a magical place.

But it’s also, for me, a very, very distracting one. I have lived here for 8 months, and I’ve never established any form of routine, because there’s so much to do here–to see, eat, drink, explore–that I couldn’t imagine wasting the experience by repeating myself.

Which would be fine, if my job title were Professional Explorer.

At the moment, though, my job title is Author.

And in order to keep that job title, I have to write and edit books.

On time.

Which is hard to do while frolicking.

Today alone there is a Japanese block fair, a Breaking Bad viewing party, a Vertigo viewing, live music at the Way Station, and goodness knows what else. Those are just the events that appealed to me at a glance. The problem is, some days all I need is a glance to persuade me to abandon my work, and with multiple books due by end of year, I have to find a way to temper my Aspiring Professional Explorer self with my M-F-ing Adult self. Or whichever self meets her deadlines.

I have been struggling with NYC at the same time I’ve been struggling with my writing (see every March post). They have been individual struggles, or so I thought, but the more I examine my work habits over the last year, the more I realize how intertwined they are. Every time I lost a story thread, or felt daunted by work, I walked away. I went to a movie, or a show, or spent the day wandering the city.

NYC has been to me an escape at a time in my life when I should not be running.

That is perhaps the best way I can explain. It has been one of the hardest decisions of my life thus far, because there is so much to love about this place, and because I’ve made some INCREDIBLE friends here, and the thought of parting from them is gutting.

It is not with a light heart that I retreat to tend my wounded work ethic.

But it has to be done.

And now, on a much happier note, the winners of THE ARCHIVED SIX MONTH SIX ARC giveaway, in order:

1. Alicia Marie Ezell
2. Lisa Harwood
3. Joy Davis
4. Sophia Chang
5. Rachel at Arms
6. Megan at Book Worm in Love Blog

Lovelies, I will be emailing you shortly so you can select your prize :)

And now, I believe I have a book to write.

7 thoughts on “The post on why Victoria is leaving NYC (giveaway winners at the end).

  1. Leigh Caroline says:

    That makes perfect sense. You should move to Philly, it’s still has stuff to do, but not nearly as much of it, and it’s close enough to NYC for special trips up without needing a plane. And I’m not just saying that cause I live there and want to hang out. Nope. :P (Ok, so I’m totally biased, but it’s one of the better big cities I’ve lived in, so far)

  2. *hugs and best wishes on the results of a hard choice*

    Leigh’s right; find somewhere with a good, cheap rail connection to NYC. Something you’ll have to schedule but won’t be burdensome when you do, y’know?

  3. Yeah, I’m so with you on the getting outside your comfort zone. It’s really damn important. Go NYC. But yep, a person has got to focus, too. And having too many options is genuinely stressful, after awhile. Go Thoreau.

  4. Vivi says:

    Great post! I hope you do find somewhere close enough where you can get to NYC when you need it but far enough away where it won’t distract you from your writing. Good luck to you! =)

  5. Phoebe says:

    So hard! I love New York City but know I could never live there for pretty much the reasons you cite. As it is, living in upstate New York is pretty perfect. There are enough things going on that you can do stuff if you want (restaurants, outdoor activities, lots of indie bookstores), but the pace of life is MUCH lower key. I’ve found a bucolic lifestyle–with occasional metronorth trips to the city–much better for getting words down.

  6. You’re not quitting, Victoria (almost wrote that Victory…coincidence?). Anyway, What you are doing is so very brave. It’s hard to change and it is hard to leave a home and friends you love. I have feeling, though, that your new home will have friends and memories that you will treasure with the same passion as you do the ones of New York.

    Good luck and safe journeys. :D

    P.S. I’m extremely jealous of the winners of the ARC, but congrats to them. :D

  7. Aww bummer!!! :(
    And I really wanted to get my hands on at least one of them. :'(
    But moreover congrats to the lucky ducks! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,107 other followers

