In which Tom Hiddleston takes over my blog.

Morning, lovelies.

It’s been a noisy couple weeks around here, between the deal announcements and the paperback release and the Cole story, so I thought we could just have a little sit-down and talk about the glory that is Tom Hiddleston.

Not only does he play Loki, one of my favorite villains, not only is he lovely in a magnetic way, not only does have an amaaaaazing accent, but he’s exceedingly intelligent, and articulate, and talks about vulnerability and complexity and the ways in which villains are heroes in their own eyes and all sorts of other musings that make me a little SWOONY.

And because I have a book to write, and because I seem to be somehow behind before I’ve even started, I thought I’d give you some lovely things to look at while I duck out for a week or so to get some words on paper.

  • An excerpt from THIS marvelous blog post Hiddleston wrote in defense of superhero movies:

    …Superhero films offer a shared, faithless, modern mythology, through which these truths can be explored. In our increasingly secular society, with so many disparate gods and different faiths, superhero films present a unique canvas upon which our shared hopes, dreams and apocalyptic nightmares can be projected and played out. Ancient societies had anthropomorphic gods: a huge pantheon expanding into centuries of dynastic drama; fathers and sons, martyred heroes, star-crossed lovers, the deaths of kings – stories that taught us of the danger of hubris and the primacy of humility. It’s the everyday stuff of every man’s life, and we love it. It sounds cliched, but superheroes can be lonely, vain, arrogant and proud. Often they overcome these human frailties for the greater good. The possibility of redemption is right around the corner, but we have to earn it.

  • [Click the picture to make him smile…]

  • An excerpt from THIS interview:

    “The one thing that I do every time is immersion. I completely immerse myself in the world of the play, the film, the story, the character and try and plaster the walls of my own imagination with extra knowledge and images and music and trivia.

    “I have a little office in my house and it is an absolute pigsty but I know exactly where everything is and there are little things stuck all over the walls, and papers in in-trays and files I have saved on my computer and playlists I have made on my iTunes – things that take me to a place that I think is appropriate…”

  • why yes, Loki. I should.

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 15,294 other followers

