I get tagged, YOU get a little glimpse at THE ARCHIVED.

I’ve now been tagged three times in this Lucky 7 Game going around the blogosphere, so I obviously need to do it :p I’m going to be a termination point, though, instead of passing it on, only because most of my friends have already done it or are on deadline and will punch me for tagging them.

Okay, the rules are, if you’re tagged:

1. Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next seven lines/sentences as they are – no cheating
4. Tag 7 other authors

SO.

I’m going to use my next book, THE ARCHIVED, a supernatural mystery thriller thing out in January with Disney*Hyperion! The first chapter of THE ARCHIVED will be in the paperback of THE NEAR WITCH out next month, but this is definitely the first look at ANY of this book.

Lines 7-14 on page 77:

Spiked hair and a slanted smile. My pulse skips. The third floor lurker from last night.

“Sorry about that,” he says, passing me back the basket. “No harm, no foul?”

“Yeah,” I say, straightening. “Sure.”

He holds out his hand. “Wesley Ayers,” he says, waiting for me to shake.

I’d rather not, but I don’t want to be rude. The basket’s in my right hand, so I hold out my left awkwardly, and when he takes it, the sounds rattle in my ears, through my head, deafening. Wesley is made like a rock band, drums and bass and interludes of breaking glass.

11 thoughts on “I get tagged, YOU get a little glimpse at THE ARCHIVED.

  1. Love! I love your prose. Cannot wait to read this sucker!

  2. Lisa says:

    YAY! First glimpse! First glimpse! As I said a few minutes ago, I need MOAR! I’m so excited to read more from you!

  3. *swoons* I CANNOT WAIT FOR MORE. Seriously. You know how impatient I was about The Near Witch. This might be damaging to my health.

  4. Akoss says:

    Wow!!!!
    Is January here yet? :D

  5. tiffanyschmidt says:

    Back off, peoples. Wes is mine ;)

  6. tkguthat says:

    Beautifully done characterization!

  7. Leigh Caroline says:

    Oooo lovely! :-D Eager reader impatiently awaits more! (and ack! All the way in next January?! *whimpers* So loooooooooooooooooooooong!)

  8. I so can’t wait to get my hands on this book! *swoons*

  9. That last line is like poetry. This is why I <3 your writing. I CANNOT wait for The Archived! Squee!

  10. Awesome description! And a great part to reveal, too, because it’s an introduction! *anticipation builds*

  11. [...] THE ARCHIVED, which doesn’t come out until January 22 of next year! From what I’ve seen on her blog of it? I already know I’m going to love it. As in, the minute I found out the expected date, [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,579 other followers

