Brain Dead. Tour Done. Edits Large and Storm Cloud-Shaped.

I’M ALIVE!

A list!

1. Thank you all so, so, so much for making THE NEAR WITCH’s release and the tour and everything in the misty space around both an absolute adventure.

I am still floating on the seas of excitement and sleep deprivation.

2. The tour!

(taken by Marla, Starting the Next Chapter)

It was amazing, and exhausting, and amazing, and terrifying, and did I mention amazing?

(PW photo of the Day)

It was a homegrown tour, meaning Beth, Myra and I planned, organized, executed, and funded it all ourselves. The 8 stops and travel ended up costing each of us about $200, and I tell you that because we were lucky enough to get a good deal of notice, but also a good deal of “well, your pubs took care of everything, so…”

(taken by Carolyn, YA book buyer, Malaprops)

That’s simply not the case. Six months of hard work, planning, enthusiasm, and a lot of luck resulted in Ash 2 Nash’s success. We got featured in PW three times, had the opportunity to pick up guest authors at several stops, and were awed by the amount of enthusiasm from the online community.

You all made that tour.

(taken by Marla, Starting the Next Chapter)

3. Edits!

[insert nervous laughter here]

4. The Launch Party!

Because the Ash 2 Nash tour kicked off the day after NW hit shelves, the official narwhal and cakepop-laden launch party is THIS Saturday, from 5-7pm. You should come because, well, I ordered too many cakepops.

5. THANK YOU AGAIN.

This concludes this episode of “V is so tired she can hardly string sentences together.”

<3

17 thoughts on “Brain Dead. Tour Done. Edits Large and Storm Cloud-Shaped.

  1. Jodi Meadows says:

    I like how in that second to last picture you’re basically melting on to Myra from the exhaustion. Time for a nap, sunshine! I’m soooo glad you had a great time! (And so jealous of everyone who was able to make it to see you.)

  2. aleeza rauf says:

    the ash 2 nash tour sounds absolutely amazing. i’m so glad it was a sucess. and good luck with the edits. i have to get my own edits, but, you know… i have to stop being such a slacker if i ever want to.

  3. Linda G. says:

    It looks like it was AMAZING. :D

    Now, go take a nap. Those edits will thank you for it.

  4. Thank you all for your efforts to ASH to NASH. It had a great time meeting you, Beth and Myra at the Kingsport stop. I brought my friend Lisa with me and I think you all made her a believer of young adult lit. I’ve been trying for a couple of years, but I think going to your book tour event really sealed the deal! Congratulations to you all and I’m looking forward to start reading The Near Witch. Oh, and good luck with the edits!

  5. Cherie Reich says:

    I enjoyed meeting you, Myra, and Beth at the Kingsport stop. The tour was wonderful! Good luck with edits and you deserve a rest after all those tour stops. :)

  6. Karen Hooper says:

    Yay! How fun! So glad you were able to post the great pics before passing out due to exhaustion. Get some well-deserved rest before the launch party. Congrats again!

    • veschwab says:

      Thank you so much!! Of course I took my camera and never got to snap a single shot! Thank goodness other people were more on the ball :p

  7. Looks like you had quite a good time, despite the exhaustion and brain death and looming edits. I’m with Jodi on being jealous of everyone there! Take a break, get those edits done… and then come out west ;)

    Oh, and congratulations again! And again, and again. HUGS!

  8. Sonia says:

    I really hope that you’re fast asleep right now! I’m glad that you had such a fantastic time on the tour – time for you to get some well-deserved rest.

    Also, good luck with the edits! I hope your brain is still in good shape when you’re done, haha. You can do it!

    Congratulations on everything! Hope things continue to go well for you in the future :) Can’t wait for my copy of TNW to arrive so that I can get started.

  9. I was too shy to say anything to you (Nashville stop), but I wanted to let you know that your words Monday were very inspiring and gave me hope and the inspiration to continue to write and do it because I love it, not because anyone else expects anything, just because I enjoy it. Hearing you talk about how you had written something “so pretty, but not good enough” made me feel so comforted by the fact that it is okay not to get it right the first time, maybe not even the second or third (or in Beth’s case 10 times). So thank you for that and for being who you are and letting us share the experience with you.

    • veschwab says:

      Aw, you’re so sweet! I am so, so glad you enjoyed the panel and signing, and that you took this away from it. <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,579 other followers

