Small Yay for the Near Witch!

I sent the (very rough) pitch to Amy, so she could sign off before I really dive into this project (in all my spare time), and she LOVED it. She said it is a FOR SURE my second project. She totally made my day. No it’s not book-deal-for-TSM day making, but it certainly beats munchkins :)

The (very rough) teaser pitch:

There’s an old ghost story in the town of Near. It tells of a witch that lived on the edge of the village, and gobbled up all the darkness, and sang the hills to sleep, and loved the children almost as much as the garden she kept beside her house.
Fifteen-year-old Lexi Harris, the daughter of a tracker, has heard the stories her entire life, first from her father, and then from old Magda and Marta, who might be witches themselves. Everyone loves to tell the story, but everyone knows a different ending. Some say that the Near Witch blew away on a gust of wind. Others tell of darker things. Of murders and curses and buried bones.
To Lexi, they’ve always been stories, nothing more. But when a strange and silent boy walks into the village of Near, and then the wind begins to lure children from their beds at night, she starts to wonder if there’s any truth in them. Could the Near Witch be more than a ghost story?

***

ETA: Okay, I changed the last name for now, since it’s the first name I’m attached to.

Tagged ,

10 thoughts on “Small Yay for the Near Witch!

  1. seaheidi says:

    coolness!!
    just so you know lexi gray is a character on grey’s anatomy! lol

  2. veschwab says:

    Haha oh dear, thanks for the heads up!

  3. shanasilver says:

    Yay on your agent liking your new book premise! Sounds great!
    I was also coming here to tell you that Lexie Grey is a character on Grey’s Anatomy. Different spelling, but most people won’t know the spelling anyway since it’s TV.

  4. veschwab says:

    Haha thanks, I changed the last name for now, until I can think of a new, permanent one.

  5. Ooh, that sounds really good. I hope I get to read it someday!!

  6. How happy! Thanks for sharing the awesome news!

  7. veschwab says:

    Why thank you! I hope so too :)

  8. veschwab says:

    I’ll take good news wherever I can get it these days :)

  9. arya_darcy says:

    Congrats! It sounds so intriguing.

  10. veschwab says:

    Thanks, the pitch gives absolutely nothing away, which isn’t the way I’d prefer it, but as the book’s not written yet (well no more than the first twenty pages lol) I didn’t feel equipped to do a full pitch.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 14,115 other followers

